Drawing by Bob Fink, (c)www.greenwych.ca 1997                       




editorial board
Coordinating editor                                Humanities editor                                         Sciences editor
 Ali C. Gedik, Dokuz Eylul  University         Amanda Bayley, Bath Spa University           Richard Parncutt, University of Graz
Editorial assistants
Helen Mitchell, The University of Sydney
Haris Sarris, Technological Educational Institute of Epirus

Associate editors 

Neville H. Fletcher, Australian National University
David M. Howard, University of York
Baris Bozkurt, Izmir Institute of Technology
Emilios Cambouropoulos, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Eleanor Selfridge-Field, Stanford University
Graham Hair, University of Glasgow
Cultural studies
Susan McClary, University of California, Los Angeles
Vladimir M. Petrov, State University of Social Sciences, Moscow
Gary McPherson, University of Melbourne
Margaret Kartomi, Monash University
Bruno Nettl, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Jonathan Stock, University of Sheffield
Anna Maria Busse Berger, University of California, Davis
Don Harran, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Linda Maria Koldau, Aarhus University
Nadine Gaab, Harvard University
Stefan Koelsch, University of Sussex
Jane Ginsborg, Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester
Lydia Goehr, Columbia University
Physiology & Medicine
Eckart Altenmüller, Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hannover
Popular culture & Sociology
Nicola Dibben, University of Sheffield
Simon Frith, University of Edinburgh
Prehistory & Archeology
Steven Mithen, University of Reading
Gunter Kreutz, Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
Barbara Tillmann, CNRS - Université Claude Bernard - Lyon 1
Theory & Analysis
Timothy Koozin, University of Houston
Elizabeth West MarvinUniversity of Rochester
Gerhard Tucek, Institut für Ethno-Musik-Therapie, Vienna

Book review editor

Lyndon Way, Izmir University of Economics

English language editor
Manuela Marin, Goldsmiths, University of London

Advisory board

Rytis Ambrazevicius, Kaunas University of Technology
Ertugrul Bayraktarkatal, Ondokuz Mayis University
Mireille Besson, CNRS, Marseille
Semih Bilgen, Middle East Technical University
A.Taylan Cemgil, University of Cambridge)
Ian Cross, University of Cambridge
Ali Ergur, Galatasaray University
Cumhur Erkut, Helsinki University of Technology
Ayhan Erol, Dokuz Eylul University (DEU)
Sean Alastair Ferguson, McGill University
Bob Fink (Canada)
Ichiro Fujinaga, McGill University
Reebee Garofalo, Harvard University
Izge H. Gunal, DEU
Ozgur Izmirli, Connecticut College
Fredric Jameson, Duke University
Claire Levy, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
Jukka Louhivuori, University of Jyväskylä 
Janne Makela, University of Helsinki
Irene Markoff, York University
Guerino Mazzola, University of Zurich
Cory McKay, McGill University
Bjorn Merker, Mid Sweden University
Jean-Jacques Nattiez, Universite de Montréal
Suleyman Seyfi Ogun, Uludag University
François Pachet, Sony Computer Science Lab., Paris
John G. Plemmenos, Ionnian University
Jens Holger Rindel, Technical University of Denmark
Jaan Ross, University of Tartu
Monika Rychtarikova, KU Leuven
Gulmira Sadiyeva, DEU
Konca Saher, Technische Universiteit Delft
Acar Savaci, Izmir Institute of Technology
Thomas Solomon, University of Bergen
Philip Tagg, Universite de Montréal
Orhan Tekelioglu, Izmir University of Economics
Hasan Gurkan Tekman, Uludag University
Petri Toiviainen, University of Jyväskylä
Mark Jude Tramo, Harvard University
Caroline Traube, Universite de Montréal
George Tzanetakis, University of Victoria
Kaire Maimets-Volt, Estonian Academy of Music and  Theatre
Udo Will, Ohio State University
Former editors:
Linguistics editor: Ilse Lehiste (1922-2010), Ohio State University, Columbus (dedication page)
Review editor: Jonathan Goldman
· Membership of the editorial and advisory boards is determined by the editors in collaboration with experts in relevant disciplines.
· Associate editors serve for three-year periods with the option of renewal.
· The total number of associate editors will never exceed 30.
· Members of the advisory board contribute occasionally to the journal by reviewing submissions, commenting on published texts about the journal, or advising on other issues.
Roles of editorial and advisory board members
Associate editors agree to accept at least one invitation per year to act as action editor. In that role, they agree to
§         comply with the guidelines and promote the aims of the journal,
§         keep a record of all correspondence, and
§         prevent undue delays.
Members of the Advisory Board may also be invited to serve as action editor.
 Guidelines for action editors
Associate editors and advisory board members may act as reviewers. They are also encouraged to submit manuscripts; such contributions are processed confidentially by other board members.


For the issues dedicated to specific conferences or symposia, editors may appoint guest editor(s) to act as action editor(s).  In such cases,  the JIMS guidelines for  guest editor(s) apply.
 Guidelines for guest editors


unique visitor counter